FNJ honours nine former presidents on its establishment day

Kathmandu, March 30 – The Federation of Nepali Journalists (FNJ) has honoured its nine former presidents on the occasion of its 63rd establishment day.

Speaker Krishna Bahadur Mahara was there to honour them amidst a programme at the FNJ central office based in Media Village today. Those feted are Homnath Dahal, Harihar Birahi, Kishore Nepal, Dr Suresh Acharya, Taranath Dahal, Dharmendra Jha, Bishnu Nishthuri, Shiva Gaunle and Dr Mahendra Bista. The felicitation was in recognistion of their contribution to democracy and safeguarding free press.

On the occasion, the Speaker said the Nepali community was well aware of the FNJ role against autocracy and in favor of democracy. Communications sector had immense contribution to the transformation of society, the Speaker said, insisting that the FNJ should remain alert to keeping its glorious history, reliability, pride and prestige alive.

FNJ incumbent chair Govinda Acharya said there was a huge pile of challenges in journalism sector, but the FNJ was wholeheartedly committed to keeping common character, prestige and weight maintained gloriously by the former generation intact.Former President Harihar Birahi shared the reality that there was still no situation that favoured Nepali press work confidently. He suggested that the FNJ should further work to increase credibility and quality of media.

The FNJ was established on Chaitra 16, 2012 BS (March 29, 1965).

On the occasion, a special edition published by the FNJ, commemorating the establishment day was launched.


सम्बन्धित सामाग्री